KesslerWilliams is the criminal defense law firm you need to succeed in the courtroom.

Arrested For DUI? Protect Your Driving Privileges And Future

If you have been cited for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you may be worried about keeping your driver’s license and avoiding jail time. These are natural concerns at the time of the arrest, but a more important goal should be preventing a criminal record.

To get your driver’s license back while your criminal case is pending, request a hearing before the Missouri or Illinois department of transportation (MoDOT or IDOT) as soon as possible. Our defense attorneys can help you get a court date on the calendar right away.

You may have made a terrible decision to consume alcoholic drinks before getting behind the wheel, resulting in impaired driving charges. It is also possible that your arrest was unjustified. Whatever your blood alcohol content was, at KesslerWilliams, we do not believe your temporary loss of judgment should mean months in jail for you or worse. We are aggressive, dedicated criminal defense attorneys. We work hard to give our clients chances to prevent having a criminal record whenever possible.

Questions And Answers About Your Alcohol Or Drug-Related Traffic Offense

Bring your concerns such as the following to our attention. We are ready to create and implement defense strategies with your future in mind.

What happens if I get charged with DUI/DWI In St. Louis?

Your driver’s license may be suspended, but often, you may be able to keep it until your criminal case is finished. To preserve your driving privileges and defend you from criminal charges, your attorney will need to request a hearing with MoDOT or IDOT and begin preparing arguments in your defense for the criminal court.

What are the penalties for DWI in Missouri?

The penalties that you may receive after a conviction for first, second or third (or subsequent) offenses are as follows:

  • Jail time: Up to six months in jail, up to one year or up to four years
  • Fines: Up to $1,000; $2,000 or $10,000
  • Driver’s license: Up to a 30-day suspension followed by a 60-day restricted license; up to a one-year revocation; or up to a 10-year revocation

Those are general descriptions only. Individual outcomes may vary considerably. Offenders who complete the requirements for probation, including getting alcohol abuse treatment, may have considerably more favorable consequences. Repeat offenders or drunk drivers who were transporting children may face more severe penalties.

How will a St. Louis DWI lawyer defend me against my charge?

Your attorney may defend you with evidence that:

  • A police officer stopped you without probable cause
  • No official informed you of your right to contact a lawyer
  • Chemical or field sobriety tests were not valid or reliable
  • A previous conviction on your record was unjustified

A thorough investigation is the first step toward renewed hope after a DUI/DWI arrest.

Ask About Driver’s License Reinstatement Requirements And More

Call 314-455-5555 or email us to schedule an initial consultation about your drunk driving charges and the most effective defenses in your case.